Two changes to your Google account
Loan Market has evolved our partnership with Google, giving you more access to all that Google Workspace has to offer.
1. Google Chat.
From 1 November, you’ll be transitioned onto Google’s newest enterprise-grade collaboration product, Google Chat. Chat has a modern UI, team rooms that support better team collaboration, emoji reactions to make work fun, bots to help you be more productive, and much more. We get early access to some great new features, such as an upgraded Gmail integration and the ability to chat with external users.
We will turn on Google Chat for one-on-one direct messages (DMs), group messages, and team discussions. The classic Hangouts service will be turned off. Learn more about Chat.
How do I get Google Chat?
Take the below actions before November 1, because classic Hangouts won't work:
- Explore the new web experience at chat.google.com.
- Explore the mobile experience within your Gmail mobile app.
- Download the new standalone desktop and mobile app, if you've been using the classic Hangouts Chrome extension or app.
- On 01/11/20, refresh your Gmail to get the new Chat in Gmail experience.
Where do I find my old chats?
You can continue recent one-on-one direct messages from classic Hangouts in Google Chat, but group messages from classic Hangouts (including their history) don't migrate to Google Chat.
All previous chat history from classic Hangouts will be accessible in Gmail.
The classic Hangouts web interface for chat, hangouts.google.com will remain available during this transition in case you need more time to access and move certain group conversations. Users can't chat in classic Hangouts by visiting hangouts.google.com in a mobile browser.
The classic Hangouts bot in Chat also notifies you of missed group messages from classic Hangouts.
Where do I go for help?
For more information about the new Chat, go to the G Suite Learning Center.
Our support desk is ready to answer your questions. We've created a Chat room to help with Q&A.
2. Data and old content management
As you are aware, all Loan Market businesses leverage the Google collaboration suite to ensure email communication and sharing of documents.
Google will soon be changing the way they manage Google Drive deleted data. In the past, if you deleted a document in google drive, it would stay in your “Trash” Folder forever.
From the 16 October, Google will now be automatically removing items that have been placed in “Trash” after 30 days.
What does this mean?
Generally, when people delete an item or it is moved to trash, the item is no longer of use. However, if this item has been shared with other users (that might be using the item), they will lose access.
If you find that you need access to an item that has been removed from “Trash” please contact the Loan Market Support team to assist you in recovering the item.